How to get your Real Estate License in Michigan
In Michigan, you need 40 hours of classes. Any provider is fine, but click the button below to sign up for discounted classes.
In Michigan, you apply for the license before you take your test, and you do not need to be sponsored by a broker first. You will need the following documents:
- Prelicensure Course Completion Certification
- Consent to Service of Process (required only for non-Michigan residents)
- Social Security Affidavit (required only for applicants that do not have a U.S. Social Security Number)
- DD214 or DD215 (required only for applicants requesting the Armed Forces Fee Waiver)
Remember, your application and fee are valid for one year, so once you apply, you have a year to take the actual real estate exam.
Follow the instructions on the screen and answer all the questions.
You will be asked to indicate your employing broker on your application. Serenity’s Broker # is 6505416796. Note – you don’t have to add the broker id number now – you can wait until after the test. Once you’ve submitted your application, you will not be able to enter the Broker id # until after your test is passed.
When you get to the upload screen, make sure to add your course completion certificate and notarized consent to service of process.
Then, continue the application and pay the fees.
Once you’ve done this, the application will be locked for requirements. LARA will notify PSI you are eligible to take the test. This process can take a few days. Once it’s been processed, PSI will send you an email with your candidate ID.
Now head back to your MiPlus account. underneath Work in Progress should be your license application. You can view the record details, add any documents you may still need, and add the Employing Broker ID.
If you have already completed all the conditions, your license will be under the “My Records” tab.
Upon approval, Serenity Realty will get a notification to claim you as an agent. Once you’ve been claimed, your license is officially active.
Once your application is complete, you will sit down with Matt to complete your Michigan onboarding paperwork, including joining the board.
Now take some time to learn the MLS, attend trainings! Please be sure to review the Rules & Regulations.
Don’t forget that you will need 18 credit hours of continuing education every 3 year licensing cycle with a minimum of 2 law specific credit hours per year between 11/1 and 10/31.